Quinoa Comfort Food…

Cheesy Quinoa Bites with a Greek Yogurt Sauce

Still not fully recovered, I’m on the hunt for comfort foods that aren’t going to break the calorie bank. And these Cheesy Quinoa Bites definitely hit the spot! Pinterest strikes again, so I owe this one to the pin board community we’ve all come to know and love!  And if you haven’t yet been introduced to Pinterest, let me be the first… Reader, meet Pinterest. Your new best friend.

You’re welcome.

Anyway, here’s the link to the original, and below is my adaptation. I wanted to make it Gluten Free, and then added some extra ingredients. Enjoy!

Cheesy Quinoa Bites
Makes ~28 bites

  • 2 cups cooked quinoa
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 cup shredded carrot
  • 2 stalks green onion, diced
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/4 cup chopped fresh cilantro
  • 1/2 cup grated Parmesan cheese
  • 2 Tbs Brown Rice Flour
  • 1/2 tsp seasoning salt
  • 1/4 tsp freshly ground pepper

1.  Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
2.  Mix together quinoa, carrot, egg, green onion, garlic, cilantro, cheese, flour, salt and pepper.

 

*Please, stop here and take a whiff of this heavenly smelling mixture! It’s intoxicating! I love cilantro, and you definitely get a lot of it in this recipe. It could be easily replaced with any number of things. I could see some very finely chopped kale, parsley, etc.
3.  Distribute mixture into a greased mini muffin tin, filling each cup to the top (1 heaping Tbs each).

I didn’t have any muffin tins… shocking, they’re all at my commercial kitchen down at the Emerald Grande! So I just plopped  TBS by TBS full down on a greased baking sheet and kinda flattened them a little with my thumb. It worked very well. The only thing I wished I had done was flipped them over after about 15 minutes and then let the other side get the last 5 minutes to crisp up.


4.  Bake for 15-20 minutes.

Now, here’s where I went all experimental on this recipe. I reserved about a cup of the mixture and added in a few ingredients of my own. I added half a cup of cheddar cheese, 1/4 cup finely chopped jalepeno pepper, and 1/8 tsp red pepper flakes.

These came out super tasty and much cheesier than the original recipe. I think I preferred the jalepeno version!

And lastly… the big dipper. You could most definitely dip these in anything you fancy. Ranch dressing, marinara, or salsa would all be super YUM! I was feeling a creamy sauce though, and so I improvised and came up with my own.

Lemon Greek Yogurt Dipping Sauce

Ingredients

60z greek yogurt (I like Chobani, plain)

1 finely minced green onion

1/8 tsp minced garlic

juice from half a lemon

2 tsp water

*half packet of stevia (I like a little sweetness to my sauces- habit courtesy of my mother!) But you could omit this if you like it without.

salt and pepper to taste

Throw everything in the food processor or blender to get a nice smooth sauce. Quick. Easy. And fairly guilt free.

Bon Appetite, my friends!

~Stacey K.

Leave a Reply

