My Passion for Poptarts

PopTarts were a staple in our house growing up. But they were more like a treat and less like an every-day breakfast thing. It was to my great dismay when I grew up and finally started reading the labels on food I bought… I could hardly pronounce any of the ingredients in a poptart! So, they have been one of the foods I really wanted to re-work.

I started with a Pate Brisee. It’s French for something like “short pastry”… but in the Stacey-Cakes dictionary it means “buttery, flaky pastry dough” – yeah, we like our definition better too. Then as that was chilling in the fridge, I made a fresh peach compote. A few peaches, some cinnamon, brown sugar and corn starch. (In hindsight, you don’t really need the cornstarch unless your peaches are really watery.) Boiled and bubbled into a delightful, thick filling for my poptarts. I then of course rolled out my dough, cut it into the right shape/size, globbed on some of my peach compote and popped them in the oven. I also tried some Raspberry jam and Nutella fillings. The Raspberry was VERY MUCH like a traditional, overly-sweet poptart. The Nutella was tasty, but needed some sort of frosting drizzle to moisten it up a bit. I whipped up a quick little cinnamon glaze for my poptart and then sprinkled it with a pinch of nutmeg and cinnamon. What you’re left with is the above: cinnamon, peachy, breakfast bliss.

I have done some re-working this week and made this into a GF/Vegan recipe. It’s got agave in the compote instead of sugar and really, there is hardly any difference between the two. I actually prefer the GF/V recipe since I know it’s slightly healthier!

These will keep for about a week and can be reheated in the oven at 400 degrees for about 5 minutes (or until warmed all the way through). If you want to try them at home but aren’t up to the challenge of a “Pate Brisee”, then you can buy pre-made pie dough and fill it with your favorite jam, fruit, etc! It’s a fast, easy way to re-make a classic!

Happy Tuesday, Friends!

~Stacey K.

Leave a Reply

