Beach Walk Cookie Recipe & Other Various Amusements

I had an excellent day today. After getting some work out of the way this morning, I went antiquing with my lovely neighbor, Susan. She’s such a doll and so fun to spend time with! Not to mention her great sense of decorating style. I keep trying to tell her she needs to quit her job and open up an interior decorating company… she’d be incredible at it! Anyway, she took me to all the hot spots. Antiques on Holiday, in Destin and Bienvenue in Miramar Beach were my favorites. We found some adorable pieces! There were so many gorgeous cake stands, but unfortunately (or perhaps, fortunately – for my pocketbook!) I don’t have enough room in my kitchen, so I couldn’t go crazy. I found a great retro china cup, saucer and plate set that I’m just sure will make for some adorable cookie and cupcake photo shoots. I stumbled upon a 1950’s Better Homes & Gardens Home Decorating book that is chock full of gorgeous 50’s design ideas.  An added bonus was that the book is a dark shade of aqua and fits in perfectly with the monochromatic aqua book collection I have in the works. I also discovered a set of Tiffany’s knock-offs necklaces/bracelets that look pretty legitimate and come in actual  Tiffany’s bags/boxes… I think I’m more excited about the packaging and using it for a photo shoot. I sense a luxary inspired cupcake design in the works for Monday’s give-away… what do you guys think?

Needless to say, we had a great afternoon and I found some things I am pretty fond of.

I promised you the Beach Walk Cookie Recipe last night… my deepest apologies that I didn’t get to it until just now. I hear there was widespread panic amongst my fans… Oh, okay, probably not. But I like to imagine there was at least some nervous nail biting that took place. You can stop the biting, because here’s the recipe…

Ingredients:

1 Cup of Soft Butter

2/3 Cup Sugar

1 Cup Brown Sugar

2.5 Cups All Purpose Flour

1 Tablespoon Baking Soda

1 Tablespoon Salt

2 Eggs

2 Cups “Filling” (Any dry ingredient like chocolate chips, oatmeal, raisins, nuts, etc)

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Sift together all the dry ingredients except the “filling” ingredients. Cream butter, sugar and brown sugar together. Add eggs, one at a time. Add in the dry ingredients and mix until just incorporated. Fold in the “filling” ingredients. Bake for 6-10 minutes. Recipe makes approximately 4 dozen.

That’s all for now! Spun sugar is calling my name…

Stacey K.

Leave a Reply

