A Classic… Cookies & Milk

I once read that a balanced diet is a having a cookie in each hand… sounds like a diet I could fully support! And how much better if that cookie is a classic chocolate chip cookie?!

This cookie makes me feel nostalgic. It takes me back to the very first time I was in the kitchen with my mother, waiting (impatiently, I’m sure) to lick the beaters after she was done mixing the cookie dough. I like to think my love of this chocolately classic was born that day… but my mother tells me she used to eat cookie dough when she was pregnant with me. So, I have a feeling its been with me all along. Needless to say, I never tire of a gooey, chocolate chip cookie, fresh from the oven!

When Emerald Coast Magazine printed Tim Creehan’s “Beach Walk Cookie” recipe last month, I knew I had to try it. It’s got a little more brown sugar than the old standby recipe (Nestle Tollhouse!) and I think that almost gives it a caramel flavor. I took a plate full to my beautiful neighbors and they were gone before you could say “Got Milk?” Apparently the recipe is a hit. I also mailed a box off to one of my Facebook Fans who won a cookie contest, so we’ll see what she has to say about it once she gets her box of goodies.

I think the thing I love most about the recipe is that it is customizable. It’s not really a chocolate chip cookie recipe. It’s just a cookie recipe. You can add 2 cups of any type of dry “filling” ingredient that you’d like! It’s nice to have options, isn’t it?

Side Note: the recipe calls for an entire tablespoon of baking soda and salt – which seems like a ton. They do come out saltier than most cookies, but it’s a good salty. I made a test batch with 1/2 tablespoon of each, instead of a full tablespoon, and they also are quite tasty, if you prefer less salt. The recipe also doesn’t call for any extracts, like vanilla. I added 2 teaspoons of vanilla to the recipe and it pushed them over the edge for me! So yummy! You know, cooking is all about experimenting and not being afraid to customize something if you want! No risk, no reward!

I’ll post the recipe tonight!

Happy Baking, friends!

Stacey K.

Trackbacks

  1. […] spun sugar and modeling chocolate. Also had an order of chocolate chip cookies to get out (which you read about earlier, here). Modeling chocolate is a divine revelation in the world of cake decorating. It’s very […]

Leave a Reply

